A Very Long Description of Otakon Weekend
3:26 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 21, 2005

This weekend was really great! I has a lot of fun. It's amazing that I made it through considering that I only ate twice the whole time I was there. My hotel room was beautiful as was the hotel in general. It's connected to The Gallery, which is like a mall, so that was nice. The only downside was that there were so many people staying in the hotel, that it took forever for elevators to arrive. All in all, the stay there was still very nice.

I didn't take as many pictures as I had hoped to, but I did manage to get a few. Also, I didn't mean to come home so early today, but after I checked out of the hotel and was looking for somewhere else to park for a few hours, I passed the parking garage that was on the road to get back on the beltway and there was no way for me to turn around. I ended up missing the chance to get the ADV voice actors to sign some things for me, but I'm sure I'll get the opportunity again some other time. Enough of what was missed and more about what made everything so great.

I was surprised that there weren't as many people cosplaying as I had expected. I'm considering cosplaying if I can go next year. I'll definitely save up for that. There were some really good costumes, though. The panels that I went to were really good, too. I went to the Madhouse panel where the founder of Madhouse answered questions and showed previews of new shows Madhouse is producing. I also went to Seiji Muzishima's panel. He created and directed the anime version of Fullmetal Alchemist. I went to the ADR Directors panel, which was a lot of fun. The voice actors panel was really fun. They are all hilarious. I'd love to hang out with them some day. I went to the Geneon panel, Mediablasters panel, Fun!mation panel, and a few other panels. They were all so great. I was disappointed about missing the yaoi panel, though. I went to get in line 15 minutes before it started and that line was out of control. A lot of us ended up not being able to go because the room was full, but that was OK.

There were a lot of new anime previews, especially from Geneon. The only bad thing about their previews was that the majority of their shows are still in production in Japan, so we might not see these shows until late 2006/early 2007. I did get to see the trailor for the Hellsing Ultimate OVA and it looks awesome. can't wait until it's done and gets released. I also want to see most of the shows Geneon previewed. There's going to be a new one called Ergo Proxy that's animated by Manglobe, the same people that did Samurai Champloo. It looks creepy, which is great of course. Mythical Detective Loki from ADV looks really good, too. I can't wait for the new stuff.

I did go into some of the screening rooms, too. So I got to watch Twelve Kingdoms and Loveless. It was only the first three episodes, but I fell in love with them both. I'll be buying Twelve Kingdoms when the box set comes out and I'll be downloading Loveless since it isn't licensed.

The best moment though was getting my Fullmetal Alchemist DVD signed by Vic Mignogna, Mike MacFarland, and Seiji Muzishima. I wanted to get Greg Ayers to sign my Saiyuki DVD and Monica Rial to sign my Noir DVD, but I wasn't able to make it to their autograph session. Who knows, maybe they'll come to Otakon again.

The other great thing was the dealers room. I didn't have much money, but I was able to buy some manga and DVDs. I wanted to go back there today and try to find a Roy plushie I saw people walking around with, but I couldn't because of that thing I talked about earlier. At least that left me with some money to go to Best Buy with on the way home. At the con, I got Model v.7, RG Veda v.1, D.N. Angel v.9 (out early), and Saiyuki Reload v.1 and since I got them from the Tokyopop booth, they had a special going on where if you bought four manga, the fifth was free so I got Scrapped Princess v.1. It took me forever, but finally I found Vampire Game v.12 and got Tsubasa Chronicle v.1 from the same booth. I'm also finally caught up on Fushigi Yugi since I bought v.6 and v.7. Also, once I saw the Kodocha trailor at the Fun! panel, I finally got v.1 w/ art box of that. From Best Buy I got Fullmetal Alchemist v.4 (even though I still need v.3, but they didn't have it) and Scrapped Princess v.3. I also bought an Envy from Fullmetal Alchemist figure. I was going to get the Lust one too, but I needed to be able to eat, lol. All in all, I had an amazing time and I can't wait to do it again.

The strangest thing, however, was how many times I got hit on inside the con. I wasn't that surprised about when I was walking around outside to and from the hotel, but there were actual people working at Otakon that were hitting on me. Also, some other people at the con did as well. It was weird since I didn't go there for that. I'm just glad I had fun.

<<<.:Corrupt:.<<>>.:Monk:.>>>

Past Adventures

Full-Time at Schinnerer! - Thursday, Apr. 06, 2006-7:53 p.m.

Oh Noez! Interviews! And a Blast From the Past - Monday, Mar. 27, 2006-9:40 p.m.

Cars Cost Too Much and a Potential Full-Time Job - Sunday, Mar. 26, 2006-3:35 p.m.

Long Time no Type! - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006-10:52 a.m.

I Heart Anime - Wednesday, Nov. 09, 2005-5:00 p.m.

>>Navigate
Current
Archives
Cast
Rings
Mail
G-book

>>Profile
I'm 22 and searching for a "real" job, really into anime & manga, and that's what this diary is primarily about.
Love status: Currently single, but in love with dear Sanzo (more about me?)

Loves: Simplicity, Reading, Writing, Anime, Manga
Hates: Large groups of people

>>Mood
The current mood of PikoPikoKitsune at www.imood.com The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

>>Links out
Diaryland
design

>>